en-USes-MX
Transaction Types
Title Transfer
Steps to take if transferring ownership of a vehicle.


Bonded Title
If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for a vehicle you own or recently purchased, you may have the option of applying for a bonded title. 

Lost Titles
Steps to take if your title is misplaced and you need to get a certified copy.

 

Title Transfer Important Information

State law requires private sale vehicle buyers to title in 30 days or face financial penalties

All transactions require original signed documents. Faxed, scanned or emailed copies are not acceptable and signatures must be in ink. Information is based on actual owner transactions. For questions contact Williamson County Tax Assessor/Collectors office at 512-943-1602.

​Title transfers are handled Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Payments made by check may be converted to an electronic funds transfer.

For information on protecting yourself as a buyer or seller, visit Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Buying or Selling a Vehicle page.

If you are in the Military, please click here for military personnel title transfer requirements provided by Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

Title Transfer Procedures

The transfer should take place within 30 calendar days to avoid any penalties. All transactions require original signed documents. Faxed, scanned or emailed copies are not acceptable and signatures must be in ink. Information provided is based on actual owner transactions. All transactions require government issued photo identification.

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles requires an applicant for title or initial registration to present a current photo identification of the owner containing a unique identification number and expiration date. The identification document must be one of the following identification documents:

  • Driver’s license or state identification certificate issued by a state or territory of the United States;
  • United States passport or foreign passport; United States military identification card;
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organization identification;
  • Identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement;
  • United States Department of Homeland Security identification document;
  • United States Citizenship and Immigration Services identification document; or
  • United States Department of State identification document. 

The buyer will need to bring in the following information:

1) The original title properly assigned by seller(s) to buyer(s). Signatures of all listed owners required. 

  • Texas Department of Motor Vehicles now offers a Title Check service. Title Check will search to see if the title of the vehicle you're considering has any issues impacting its value. For more information visit the TxDMV website.

2) An original Application for Texas Title (form 130-U) completed by both seller(s) and buyer(s). If vehicle is a gift, please see our Gift Transfer Section for additional requirements and eligibility.

3) Government issued photo identification. Vehicles will be titled in the legal name as it appears on the identification. Please read the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles identification rules effective September 2013.

4) Proof of Texas Liability Insurance. Insurance must be in the name of buyers listed on title and the title application. Insurance on another vehicle can be shown for up to 30 days from the date of sale.  Motorcycles require motorcycle insurance.

5) Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) – Inspection Report showing emissions test overall passed and issued within last 90 days. Required only if the vehicle was last registered or titled in a county without an emissions inspection program.

Exemptions include

  • Title only transfers
  • Vehicles less than 2 years old or vehicles older than 24 years
  • Diesel powered vehicles, vehicles registered as antique, motorcycle, and title only vehicles.

6) If the vehicle was purchased out of state have a Texas vehicle inspection done first; please ask the station for the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR). Verify that the vehicle identification number on the form matches your vehicle information and bring the form to the tax office.  No alterations or errors will be accepted. Inspection station locater and information.

7) Any supporting documents such as Release of Lien, Power of Attorney, etc. If the vehicle was a gift, please see our Gift Tax procedures below.

8) If you are a Texas resident who purchased a vehicle from overseas, please click here for additional requirements.

Fees may vary depending on actual transaction but typically include:

  • title fee $33
  • registration fee $64.25 (light trucks and passenger cars)
  • sales tax calculated at 6.25% on the purchase price or the standard presumptive value whichever is greater.

Click here to visit our fees page.

Title transfers are handled Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Payments made by check may be converted to an electronic funds transfer.

If you do not have acceptable evidence of ownership for a vehicle you own or recently purchased, you may have the option of applying for a bonded title.

For additional information please see TXDMV Bonded Title Information.

Click here for a list of bonded title agents provided by Texas Department of Insurance. The companies listed are not affiliated with nor promoted by Williamson County Tax Office.

Senate Bill 543 effective September 1, 2009, requires the mechanic filing the lien to submit the following to the county tax assessor collector's office in the county in which repairs were made:

  • $25 administrative fee
  • copy of the notification to owner/lienholder
  • signed copy of the work order

The Mechanic's Lien Foreclosure form (VTR-265-M) can be found on Texas Department of Motor Vehicles Forms page.